Mixtape #136

A talented, versatile and visionary multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer, JP Coimbra has an impressive body of work spanning over two decades. Vibra, his first solo album under his own name, re-released worldwide last year, is a beguiling, delicate and adventurous instrumental album, fusing together his different musical influences, including neoclassical, jazz and electronic music. Needless to say we're stoked that JP compiled this month's wonderful mix, with songs from artists that have inspired him. Enjoy!

  1. Tones on Tail – Lions [Beggars Banquet]
  2. Ryuichi Sakamoto – B-2 Unit [Alf]
  3. Isao Tomita – Arabesque nº1 [RCA]
  4. Kraftwerk – Pocket Calculator [Deep Records]
  5. 808 State – Bird [ZTT]
  6. Steve Reich – City Life III, IV, V. [RCA]
  7. Philip Glass – Einstein on the Beach: Knee Play [Sony / CBC]
  8. Laurie Spiegel – Hall of Mirrors [Scarlet Records]
  9. Tortoise – Glass Museum [Thrill Jockey/ City Slang]
  10. Robert Wyatt – Ship Building [Rough Trade]
  11. Brian Eno – Brutal Ardour [Island Records]
  12. Mal Waldron – All Alone [Philips / GTA Records]

JP Coimbra’s debut solo album, Vibra, out now

Last week saw the release of a gorgeous, delicate and adventurous album, Vibra, from Portuguese musician JP Coimbra. The talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer has kept himself busy with many projects and collaborations for over two decades. Vibra, which translates from Portuguese as ‘vibrate’, marks his first solo release.  An instrumental affair, the album blends together elements of neo classical, jazz and electronics and was recorded in various locations in Porto including a tube station, an underground river, a concert hall and a contemporary art gallery. Speaking about Vibra, Coimbra comments:

“It was written as a concept record rather than a random collection of pieces, with the objective of combine the plasticity of untreated public spaces and their inherent acoustic characteristics into the composition, the spaces becoming an extension of musical instruments. The reason for this was the idea that these locations, with their geometry and materials, would change the way we played the music and would inspire changes in their composition… and it worked!!”

For a taste of what’s on offer, listen to ‘Invincible Summer’, one of the sublime and striking tracks off the album. It comes with an accompanying video directed by Vasco Mendes and you watch it below.

Vibra is out now through Cognitive Shift Recordings