Mixtape #155

A central figure of the contemporary UK jazz scene, young British tenor saxophonist Alex Hitchcock is a creative and visionary artist, with a prolific body of solo and collaborative work. Hitchcock excels as a bandleader, composer and performer in his ambitious recent album, Dream Band: Live in London, which was recorded live over three nights, each featuring a different band he brought together including bright sparks of the contemporary London scene, and for which he specifically composed original music. So with a new year upon us, we’re thrilled to unveil the magnificent mixtape he curated for us, encapsulating the influences at play in his own music. Press play and enjoy.

  1. Koma Saxo & Petter Eldh – Watten Koma [We Jazz]
  2. Patricia Brennan – Square Bimagic [Pyroclastic Records]
  3. Kirk Lightsey, Famodou Don Moye & Tibor Elekes – Heaven Dance [In+Out Records]
  4. Ambrose Akinmusire – Owl Song 1 [Nonesuch]
  5. Phronesis – Lipwash – Part II [Edition Records]
  6. Lucia Cadotsch – Speak Low [We Jazz]
  7. Eric Dolphy – Bee Vamp (Alternate Take) [Prestige]
  8. Maria Chiara Argirò – Beneath The Surface [Cavalo Records]
  9. Bheki Mseleku – Timelessness [Verve]
  10. Nina Simone – Lilac Wine [Philips]
  11. Jaki Byard – Bl + Wh = 88 [Soul Note]
  12. Samm Henshaw – Thoughts and Prayers [Dorm Seven]

Mixtape #134

A new year is upon us and what better way to set the mood than with a mixtape curated by the brilliant and imaginative Matthias Lindermayr. Whether you know his work with German jazz group Fazer, his collaborations with artists like Carlos Cipa, or his own beguiling solo works, Lindermayr is one of Germany’s leading jazz trumpet players. Crossing the borders between composition and improvisation, his magnificent third album Triptych has completely enthralled us and is one of our Album Picks of 2021. Needless to say, we're ecstatic to unveil this stunning mix that perfectly encapsulates the spectrum of influences at play in the album, from jazz to classical to contemporary music. Press play already!

  1. Girls in Airport – Stonehouse [Kaja Records]
  2. Peter Evans & Levy Lorenzo – Axis [More is More Records]
  3. Roberto Oyarzun Susnar – Ligeti Etude VII [Chancacazo]
  4. Christian Wallumrod Ensemble – Danszaal [Hubro]
  5. Bill Frisell [with Dave Holland & Elvin Jones] – Twenty Years [Nonesuch Records]
  6. Arve Henriksen – Acceptance [ArveMusic]
  7. Koma Saxo – Fanfarum for Komarum II [We Jazz Records]
  8. Portico Quartet – Line [Real World]
  9. Tigran Hamasyan – Etude No. 1 [Nonesuch Records]
  10. Mark Hollis – The daily Planet [Polydor Records]
  11. Mathias Eick – Children [ECM]
  12. Makaya McCraven – Inner Flight [International Anthem]
  13. Cuong Vu – Vina’s Lullaby [Knitting Factory]