Watch Melt Yourself Down’s video for ‘The God Of You’

Photo: Cat Stevens

Photo: Cat Stevens

Later this month, London based collective Melt Yourself Down will drop their second studio album Last Evenings On Earth. Slated for an April 29th release via The Leaf Label, it follows their widely acclaimed 2013 self-titled debut album.
Described as an apocalyptic album, Last Evenings On Earth is darker and even more powerful than their debut. “The need to dance is still there but now I’m feeling inspired by the idea of the city as a prism through which all kinds of global influences pass,” says the band’s founding member Pete Wareham. “Translation, immigration, overcoming obstacles – and most of all, human unity.”

The thunderous ‘The God Of You’ is one of singles extracted from the upcoming album and Melt Yourself Down have shared a video for it. Check it out below.

To celebrate the release of Last Evenings On Earth, Melt Yourself Down are playing a string of shows in the UK. Check all their dates below.


Melt Yourself Down unveil new video for ‘Camel’

Melt Yourself Down - CamelFollowing the release of a brilliant self-titled debut album, and quite a few performances throughout the summer, London based collective Melt Yourself Down have just unveiled a video for the album’s closing track ‘Camel’.
The video features footage filmed last June at their excellent, mad and sweaty album launch at Electrowerkz in London. Watch it below.

Melt Yourself Down is out now via The Leaf Label.

Mixtape #38

Star-studded collective Superhuman Happiness sent us this month's instalment all the way from Brooklyn, New York. The infectious rhythm and joyful energy we love them for resonates through the 17 tracks they handpicked for the mixtape. Press play and dance!


Melt Yourself Down unveil video for new single ‘Release!’

Melt Yourself Down - Release!

Last week the mighty London based collective Melt Yourself Down teased everyone announcing the imminent release of a new single, and an accompanying video. The sextet had left us craving for more since sharing the incredible and infectious first two singles, ‘We Are Enough’ and ‘Fix My Life’, as we previously mentioned. Earlier today, Melt Yourself Down shared the promised new track, ‘Release!’, an excellent and explosive cut to get everyone dancing madly. You can watch the video for ‘Release!’ below, directed by Morgan Beringer. And watch out for their self-titled debut album due out on June 17th 2013 via The Leaf Label.

Melt Yourself Down’s debut single

Melt Yourself Down -  Fix My Life /​ We Are Enough

When brilliant musicians like Pete Wareham (Acoustic Ladyland, Polar Bear), Tom Skinner (Hello Skinny, Sons Of Kemet, Mulatu Astatke), Shabaka Hutchings (Sons Of Kemet, Heliocentrics), Kushal Gaya (Zun Zun Egui), Ruth Goller (Acoustic Ladyland) and Satin Singh (Fela!, Transglobal Underground) team up, you know the outcome has to be madly incredible. Under the name Melt Yourself Down, the London based collective create thunderous energy, blending each of its six members’ own musical territories, like jazz, punk, African music, funk, tropicalia, amongst other genres and influences.
The press release describes the London collective as “a riot of colour and noise, they rip the still beating heart from the remains of Acoustic Ladyland, reanimated with intense, sweaty funk, uplifting horns and blistering Nubian drums.”
Melt Yourself Down first captivated everyone’s attention with the blasting debut single ‘We Are Enough’, released last October, which they followed earlier this year with ‘Fix My Life’. Both singles were released on a 12″ vinyl last month via The Leaf Label. The sextet’s first release also sees them recruiting Leafcutter John for production and mixing duties.
If you hadn’t heard Melt Yourself Down before, this is your lucky day.