Blues Control premiere video for ‘Opium Den/Fade to Blue’

Blues Control - Opium Den / Fade to Blue

Blues Control‘s fourth album Valley Tangents, released last June via Drag City, was one of our Album Picks of the Year. The duo of Russ Waterhouse and Lea Cho have premiered a fittingly stunning and haunting video for a cut lifted from Valley Tangents, ‘Opium Den/Fade to Blue’, made by new media and performance artist Kathy Rose. Watch it below.

If you’re lucky to be in the US in the next couple of months, Blues Control are likely to be playing in a town near you. Check all their tour dates here.

Blues Control unleash video for new single from upcoming album

Blues Control‘s forthcoming fourth full-length album, Valley Tangents, is only a couple of weeks away from being released, via Drag City.
The outfit of Russ Waterhouse and Lea Cho dropped the first single, ‘Iron Pigs’, a month ago and they are enticing us again with another cut off Valley Tangents. The duo have just unveiled a video for the album’s exuberant opening track, ‘Love’s A Rondo’. Tara Sinn directs and you can watch it below.

Blues Control share first cut from forthcoming album Valley Tangents

Blues Control, the avant-rock duo of Russ Waterhouse and Lea Cho, originally from Queens, New York and now relocated to Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, are set to release their fourth album Valley Tangents. It drops on June 19th and it will mark their debut on Drag City.

The pair have offered the first taste from Valley Tangents, ‘Iron Pigs’, an excellent proggy space jam. Enjoy.

Mixtape #21

In this month's episode of Cast the Dice: the dreamy chillwave and electrifying percussions of Chicago's A Lull,  with the first single from their first album Confetti; 'fuzzed out space disco' from Oakland-based quintet Lumerians, with the single from their début album Transmalinnia; beautiful electronics in See you Monday, a track from the wonderful and exquisite album In Dust by Swedish duo Scattered Smothered Covered, the album released last August by Appetite, Sacramento's hungry drummer and self-taught producer as well as plenty more hand picked gems from the finest artists and bands.

  1. Capitol K – God Ohm [Planet Mu]
  2. Primus – Restin’ Bones [Polydor Group]
  3. Steve Reich – Section IIIA [Nonesuch Records]
  4. Hidden Orchestra – Flight [Tru Thoughts]
  5. A Lull – Weapons For War [Mush Records]
  6. Lumerians – Atlanta Brook [Knitting Factory Records]
  7. Not Squares – Asylum [Richter Collective]
  8. Os Mutantes – Bat Macumba [Omplatten]
  9. Appetite – Fiery Ring [Crossbill Records]
  10. Roll The Dice – See You Monday [The Leaf Label]
  11. Blues Control – Good Morning [Siltbreeze Records]
  12. CANT – Answer [Terrible Records]
  13. Lime Headed Dog – Balloons and Dams [Self released]
  14. Boards of Canada – Chromakey Dreamcoat [Warp Records]
  15. Pilooski – Love Is Wet [Astro Lab Recordings]