Mixtape #149

For this month’s Cast The Dice mixtape, futuristic quartet ECHT! have put together a sunny-not-sunny mix of tunes that were played a lot when recording their latest album Sink-Along. It starts a bit slowly with some global tunes, moving into futuristic funk, finishing off with some futuristic beats and weird electronica thrown in for good measure.

  1. Grupo Bahia Trio – Bambuco Viejo
  2. Grazia – Rampi Rampi [Koliphone / Fortuna Records]
  3. Little Ann – Deep Shadows [Timmion Records]
  4. Chris Dave – Cosmis Slop
  5. Don Leisure – Street Cats [First Word Records]
  6. Sungazer – Drunk
  7. NAH – Paint Some Lines On It [Ranch]
  8. ONHELL – The Rake It Up Riddim [Deep, Dark And Dangerous]
  9. ECHT! – Bryan Brains [Sdban Ultra]
  10. Tsuruda – Prowler [20/20 LDN]
  11. DJ Rashad – Feelin’ [Hyperdub]
  12. Halogenix & Lordel – Chipset [Deadbeats]
  13. ECHT! – Rouf-rouf [Sdban Ultra]
  14. Spongemagnet – Cyborn (Velvet C Tape) [ICI]
  15. Roberto Negro – Kings and Bastards [C.A.M. Jazz]

ECHT! share third single, ‘Cheesecake’, off upcoming album Sink-Along

Photo: Mayli Sterkendries

We’re getting excitingly close to the release of Sink-Along, ECHT!‘s sophomore album arriving on May 5th through Sdban Ultra. The Brussels based outfit had already teased the record with two dope tracks, ‘Mtwk Part 2’ and ‘Vault-A’ and as if we needed any more reasons to be excited for this release, the quartet has let loose a third intoxicating single, ‘Cheesecake’, a track awash with a deep, dark and menacing groove. ECHT! had this to say about it:

“It’s not a very long piece, but it’s full of different stories and atmospheres. We wanted to have something heavy but using it in a non-linear way and we wanted to surprise ourselves and the listener. It’s deep and heavy, but there are developments and twists that you don’t expect.”

‘Cheesecake’ is downright catchy. Take a listen now.

ECHT! reveal second single ‘Mtwk Part 2’

May 5th will see the release of Sink-Along, the second album from Brussels based outfit ECHT!, following their outstanding 2019 Inwane. The quartet had already shared the tight and hypnotic first single ‘Vault-A’, and today they have revealed a dope second track called ‘Mtwk Part 2’. The band comments:

“You’ll have to wait for the album to come out to hear the first part but we liked the idea to have a song in two parts in an album and you’ll see that the link between those two is actually not that obvious. Each of them tells a different story and can stand by itself but if you try to put those two tracks together you’ll see that, as a whole, they become something else. In the end it made sense for us and we like that little mystery connection for the listener.”

Listen to ‘Mtwk Part 2’ below.

Sink-Along is out on May 5th through Sdban Ultra.

Mixtape #146

For anyone late to the party, TUKAN are Andrea Pesare (guitar), Nathan Van Brande (bass), Samuel Marie (keys) and Tommaso Patrix (drums). Known for their intoxicating live shows and a unique and heady brew of electronic music, jazz and post-rock, the four Brussels musicians have been garnering widespread acclaim. Last year TUKAN released Atoll, an adventurous, exhilarating and groove-heavy debut album that left us awestruck. Atoll represents a band with an undeniable improvisational synergy in their music. Needless to say we were ecstatic when the band agreed to take time out to create this amazing mix for us, scratching the surface of their influences.

  1. VAAGUE – Raakma [Shapes No Frame]
  2. Planet Opal – Additional Informations [Dischi Sotterranei]
  3. Echt – Dunes [Sdban Ultra]
  4. Jean-Paul Groove – Ex Drummer
  5. Jojo Mayer – Loot [BNS Records]
  6. Soulwax – Essential Four [Deewee / [pias]]
  7. Lander & Adriaan – Bomsi [BMM Records]
  8. Hihats In Trees – Sun Salutations [Paxico Records]
  9. Le Motel – Shaolin (feat. Magugu) [XXIII]
  10. Ivy Lab – Cake [20/20 LDN]
  11. Mono/Poly – 5.23.19
  12. MADMADMAD – Gwarn [Stac Records]
  13. KUF – Feral [Macro]
  14. Beraadgeslagen – Bikini [W.E.R.F.]

ECHT! announce second album Sink-Along, and share first single ‘Vault-A’

We love Belgian instrumental quartet ECHT! and their thrilling and intoxicating amalgam of disparate influences. So we’re excited to know they are following up the outstanding 2019 Inwane with a second full-length album. Entitled Sink-Along, the album is set for release on May 5th through Sdban Ultra. It seems like a long way away but the outfit of Martin Méreau, Dorian Dumont, Florent Jeunieaux and Federico Pecoraro are already teasing it with the tight and hypnotic first single ‘Vault-A’, a track dedicated to Brussel’s music centre VOLTA, the “most precious place” in the city. ‘Vault-A’ is offered with a visualizer made by DR.ME. Here it is

ECHT! share cover of Sophie’s ‘MSMSMSM’; limited edition 7″ out in June

Belgian instrumental outfit ECHT! put out a hell of a debut album last year called Inwane, with influences aplenty, including hip-hop, footwork, trap, jazz and electronic music. Now they’re poised to follow it up with two covers from two producers they admire, Sophie and Objekt. The four-piece are offering up their own interpretation of ‘MSMSMSM’ by Sophie and ‘The Goose That Got Away’ by Objekt as a tribute to the club culture. “While being faithful to the atmosphere and the sounds of the two original tracks”, says the press release, “they add the organic energy that is typical of live music.”

MSMSMSM / The Goose That Got Away comes out as a limited edition 7″ on June 3rd through Sdban Records and can now be pre-ordered on bandcamp. Listen to ‘MSMSMSM’ below, you’ll be playing it again the second it ends.