BIG|BRAVE share new video ahead of UK and European Tour

Photo: Samantha Marble

Following their critically acclaimed fourth album, A Gaze Among Them, which was released via Southern Lord last year, Montreal trio BIG|BRAVE prepare for an extensive UK and European tour with a new video for standout track ‘This Deafening Verity’. Taking in several dates across April and May, the tour kicks off on April 19th at Roadburn Festival in the Netherlands and includes shows at Electrowerkz in London on April 21st and at Maus Hábitos in Porto on May 2nd.

The band commented on the video:

“The video is made from re-appropriated footage from a hot dog eating competition in the USA. With the video we didn’t want to only investigate the competitive hot dog eating community but rather at all spectacles of this character. Ones where gratuitous displays of abundance are celebrated and worshiped.”

Watch it below and take a look at their live dates here.

BIG|BRAVE share video for first single ‘Sibling’ off forthcoming album

Photo: Rachel Cheng

Mighty Montreal trio BIG|BRAVE are releasing their fourth album A Gaze Among Them next month and they had us mouthwatering with a celestial teaser. Now they are offering the first full track, ‘Sibling’, with an accompanying video by the band’s own Mathieu Ball & Robin Wattie. Watch it below.

A Gaze Among Them is out on May 10th through Southern Lord.

BIG|BRAVE’s fourth album A Gaze Among Them out in May

Photo: Rachel Cheng

Following 2017’s ARDOR, Montreal trio BIG|BRAVE are set to release their fourth full-length album, A Gaze Among Them, on May 10th through Southern Lord. Continuing an approach to music based on the key principles of space, volume, and raw emotion, in the realms of experimental rock, the majestic, fierce and poignant sentiments that originate from their compositions, continue to prevail on the new record. “How do we take very little and make something bigger than what we actually have?”, asked vocalist and guitarist Robin Wattie. She explains:

“The biggest challenge was to not do what is easiest. i.e. what we knew worked for the last albums or what is, for us, easy to write. With A Gaze Among Them, Mathieu and I put ourselves through the ringer – I did not want to do what seemed to me to be a ‘logical next step’ in what we could do musically. I wanted to go back to our original concepts and work from there – space, tension, minimalism and voice (finding melody and musicality in pieces that consist of one note for longer than ten minutes, for example) were the primary concentrations I wanted to push.”

A Gaze Among Them also features contributions from Thierry Amar (Godspeed You! Black Emperor, Thee Silver Mt Zion) guesting on doublebass and Seth Manchester on synth overdubs.

The first taste from BIG|BRAVE’s upcoming album comes in the shape of a celestial teaser. Check it out below.

BIG|BRAVE announce new album ARDOR

BIGBRAVEMontreal trio BIG|BRAVE have announced a new album following their majestic, fierce and poignant Au De La, released a couple of years ago. Entitled ARDOR, the new effort comes out on September 15th through Southern Lord Recordings.

With Radwan Ghazi Moumneh’s on recording duties, the upcoming album features guest contributions from violinist Jessica Moss, who had already guested on their previous album, and Thierry Amar of Godspeed You! Black Emperor on double bass.

BIG|BRAVE have shared a mighty teaser video for ARDOR and it has us wanting more.

Mixtape #84

We're very excited to have Oiseaux-Tempête, the French band spearheaded by Frédéric D. Oberland and Stéphane Pigneul, behind the wheel of this month's mixtape. The band's music, strangely beautiful and beautifully strange, explores and experiments with many varied genres. To shed some light on their influences, here's their thrilling mix, about which they had this to say:

"16 tracks which fell off the back of our van during our last Spring tour in France and Belgium with Mondkopf, G.W.Sok, As Human Pattern, Two Or The Dragon & Charbel Haber. Recent discoveries or forever inspirations, hidden covers and rare gems, all the music you need for a perfect highway ambience."

  1. Einstürzende Neubauten – NNNAAAMMM [Potomak]
  2. Bästard –  Golden Lad [Ici D'Ailleurs]
  3. Jerusalem In My Heart – Al Affaq, Lau Mat, Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau Lau [Constellation]
  4. Om – Cremation Ghat I [Drag City]
  5. BIG|BRAVE -(Re)collection pt 2 [Southern Lord]
  6. David Lynch – The Ballad of Hollis Brown [Sunday Best Recordings]
  7. Silver Apples – I Have Known Love [Kapp Records]
  8. The Ex & Getatchew Mekuria – Tezalegn Yetentu [Terp Records]
  9. Faust / Nurse With Wound – Lass Mich [Art-errorist]
  10. Alice Coltrane – Atomic Peace [Impulse]
  11. Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Plain Gold Ring [Mute]
  12. Pharmakon – Crawling On Bruised Knees [Sacred Bones]
  13. Scrambled Eggs & “A” Trio – Koji Kabuto (Ya Akruto) [Johnny Kafta's Kid Menu]
  14. Vangelis O. Papathanassiou – Sunny Earth [Vertigo]
  15. John Vartan and His Ensemble – Asa Inch Anem [Monitor Records]
  16. Scott Walker – Corps De Blah [4AD]

BIG|BRAVE share first video from new album Au De La ahead of European tour


We had already mentioned that Montreal based trio BIG|BRAVE are embarking on a European tour in support of their majestic, fierce and poignant second full-length album, Au De La, released earlier this Autumn. The tour, which kicks off next week, will take them across cities in Europe and the UK and will include a London show on November 25th at Birthdays. Check their full run of dates here.
Today they are sharing a video to accompany the album’s monumental track ‘Look At How The World Has Made A Change’. Watch it below and don’t miss the chance to see them in action.

Au De La is out now via Southern Lord.