Mixtape #135

Originally from New York, and now based in Nashville, Tennessee, Rob Burger is one of the most creative forces on today’s music scene. Throughout the last two decades, as an incredibly talented multi-instrumentalist, composer and arranger, Burger has amassed a body of work that encompasses film scores, founding chamber music collective Tin Hat Trio and various collaborations with artists like John Zorn, Laurie Anderson, Elvis Costello, Rufus Wainwright, Lou Reed, Lucinda Williams, Beth Orton and Iron & Wine, amongst many others. Burger has also made his name as a gifted solo artist and with his sublime new album, Marching With Feathers, arriving later this month, we are stoked to have him put together this beautiful and enthralling mix exploring the myriad influences at play in his music. Press play already!

  1. Can – Moonshake [Sunset Records / United Artists Records]
  2. Alice Coltrane – Sita Ram [Impulse!]
  3. Moondog – Viking 1 [Kopf / Managarm]
  4. Raymond Scott – Lightworks (Slow) [Basta]
  5. Emahoy Tsegué-Maryam Guèbrou – The Song of the Sea [Buda Musique]
  6. John Fahey – Will The Circle Be Unbroken [4 Men With Beards]
  7. Tom Zé – Toc [Continental]
  8. Nino Rota – Il Giardino Delle Fate [Cam]
  9. Duke Ellington – Angu [Reprise]
  10. Eno / Byrne – Moonlight In Glory [Sire / Polydor]
  11. Hans-Joachim Roedelius – Final [Egg / Bureau B]
  12. Bernard Herrmann – Scene d’Amour [Sony / ATV Songs LLC]

Mixtape #54

September is here and with it comes our monthly mixtape, curated this time around by the incredible orchestral folk rock sextet Little Tybee, based out of Atlanta, Georgia. Named after a little island off the coast of Savannah, Little Tybee first hit our radar last year when they released their wonderful third album For Distant Viewing. After delving deeper into their previous efforts we got hooked on their intricate, innovative and warm compositions. Their mixtape reflects this warmth with a laid back and acoustic feel and we hope you enjoy it as much as we did.


Jherek Bischoff unveils video for ‘Eyes’ featuring David Byrne

David Byrne & Jherek Bischoff - Eyes

A year on from the release of Jherek Bischoff‘s magnificent debut album Composed, which was one of our Album Picks of 2012, we continue to be overwhelmed every time we play it.
The Seattle based songwriter, producer and composer has just unveiled a video for the album’s glorious opener ‘Eyes’ featuring David Byrne. Here it is.

Composed is out now in Europe via The Leaf Label and in North America via Brassland.

David Byrne & St. Vincent premiere video for ‘Who’

David Byrne & St. Vincent‘s highly anticipated collaborative album will see the light next week.
In anticipation of it, the pair have premiered a video to accompany the first single lifted from it, ‘Who’, posted here back in June.
The video was directed by Martin de Thurah and it shows Annie Clark aka St. Vincent keeping up with Byrne’s crazy dance moves.

Love This Giant drops on September 10th in the UK and a day later in the US via 4AD / Todo Mundo.

Shortly after the release, Byrne and Clark are set to play several shows thoughout North America, starting off in Minneapolis on September 15th. The pair will be joined on tour by eight brass players, a keyboardist and a drummer.

Now watch the video for the catchy album’s opener ‘Who’.

Mixtape #28

  1. David Byrne & St. Vincent – Who [4AD / Todo Mundo]
  2. Orchestra Of Spheres – Rotate [Fire Records]
  3. Helado Negro – Mamember [Asthmatic Kitty]
  4. Ultraísta – Static Light
  5. Excepter – The Last Dance [Paw Tracks]
  6. Parenthetical Girls – The Pornographer [Slender Means Society]
  7. Ribbons- Tongue Med [Osaka]
  8. Conveyor – Mom Talk [Paper Garden Records]
  9. Hear Hums – Change [CRASH SYMBOLS]
  10. Broke For Free – Night Owl
  11. Bedbury Poly – Cantalus [Ghost Box]
  12. Sandro Perri – Impossible Spaces [Constellation Records]
  13. Meth Teeth – Boring Artifacts [Sweet Rot Records]
  14. Quarto Negro – Luz [self-released]
  15. Alastair Cameron – Gentle Marimba

David Byrne & St. Vincent to release collaborative album in September

When two incredible musicians like David Byrne and Annie Clark aka St. Vincent team up, it’s no surprise that their delivery is a golden one. And this is the case with Love This Giant, a collaborative album they have been working on for the last two and a half years.
Byrne and Clark have finally announced Love This Giant will be released on September 10 in the UK and a day later in the US via 4AD / Todo Mundo.

“The writing was truly collaborative” said David Byrne. “Sometimes Annie would send me some synthesized versions of brass or guitar riffs and I would arrange them a bit and write a tune and words over them; other times this process would be reversed and I would send some musical ideas to Annie for her to write over. This material would get passed back and forth—each of us adding and elaborating on it.”

Love This Giant includes ten tracks, eight of them written collaboratively and another two written by Byrne and Clark individually.
The album also features guest appearances from Antibalas, Dap-Kings and John Congleton who added some beats.

Following the album release, the pair will embark on a North American tour, starting in Minneapolis on September 15th.
According to Byrne, the band joining them on tour will include eight brass players, a keyboardist and a drummer. “We’ll be doing these songs and a bunch of songs that we suspect people will know.”

Byrne and Clark have shared the album’s catchy opening track ‘Who’, which you can download free on the album’s website. Now just hit play below.

[audio:https://castthedice.org/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/David-Byrne-St_-Vincent-Who.mp3|titles=David Byrne & St. Vincent – Who]