The Chap release new single from upcoming album

The Chap - Guitar Messiah

We had already heard ‘Jammer’, the first single lifted from The Chap‘s forthcoming political rock album The Show Must Go. Ahead of its release on October 23rd via Lo Recordings, the quintet are giving us another taste from the album in the form of ‘Guitar Messiah’. The single, described as “a motorik ode to the power of ye olde rock guitar”, comes backed with ‘Here’s A Guitar’ on the B-side. We’ll have to wait till October 9th to get our hands on it but we can already stream both tracks.

Watch the new video for The Chap’s single ‘Jammer’

The Chap - Jammer

Last month The Chap announced the release of The Show Must Go, a political rock album due out this Autumn via Lo Recordings. The quintet teased their upcoming album with the first single ‘Jammer‘, and they offered these words to describe it:

“‘Jammer’ is a wordless single. It’s the sound of despair in the face of awesome idiocy that renders The Chap’s usually reliable Swiss Army knife of irony totally worthless. In the midst of events that deeply affect their family and friends, The Chap are united in their realisation: you can take Democracy out of Europe, but you can still tour Europe. Fuck you, Europe. We are The Chap, we are Europe.”

Now The Chap have made a video to accompany ‘Jammer’, featuring Vincent Oliver and Kristof Künssler. Watch it below.

The Chap’s sixth album arrives this Autumn

The Chap - Jammer

The Chap might have been quiet for a while but they’ve been hard at work prepping their sixth album. This Autumn, the outfit of Claire Hope, Johannes von Weizsäcker, Panos Ghikas, Keith Duncan and Berit Immig, will put out The Show Must Go, a political rock album themed around the austerity inflicted on Europe in recent years.
Ahead of it, and to whet our appetite, The Chap are dropping the first single ‘Jammer’ on July 31st via Lo Recordings. It comes backed by an instrumental on the B-side called ‘That’s wrong’. Luckily, we can already stream ‘Jammer’.

7th Bet

  1. Koudlam – See You All
  2. Django Django – Skies Over Cairo
  3. Slapp Happy / Henry Cow – A Worm Is At Work
  4. Memory Tapes – Today Is Our Live
  5. Hype Williams – Blue Dream
  6. Brian Eno & David Byrne – Regiment
  7. Parts & Labor – Constant Future
  8. Fujiya & Miyagi – Conductor 71
  9. Stereo Total – Plötzlich Ist Alles Anders
  10. The Chap – We Work In Bars
  11. The Go! Team – Get It Together
  12. Onra – The Anthem
  13. Silver Apples – Ruby
  14. Tom Zé – Xiquexique
  15. Arthur Russell – A Little Lost